Bylaws

Department of Architecture

The City College of New York

Article I: Meetings of the Department and rules of order

Section 1

The Architecture Department shall include:

- a. The following with vote:
 - i. All members of faculty rank, tenured or on tenure-bearing lines, as defined in the Governance Plan of The City College, who teach in the Architecture Department.
 - ii. Lecturers and instructors who have received notice of reappointments on an annual salary basis for a third or later year of continuous full-time service.
- b. The following without vote:
 - i. Other lecturers and instructors, and CLTs.
 - ii. Adjunct faculty.

Section 2

Meetings of the Architecture Department shall be held at least twice in each semester. The Department Chair shall preside at meetings, or in the Chair's absence, the Chair's designee. When the Secretary is not present the presiding officer shall appoint a Secretary pro tem.

Section 3

The Secretary of the Spitzer School Faculty Council shall also serve as Secretary of the Architecture Department.

Section 4

Special meetings of the Architecture Department shall be held upon petition to the Chair by not less than ten percent (10%) of the voting members of the Department. The object of the special meeting shall be stated in the call, and no business except that which is so stated shall be transacted at said meeting.

Section 5

A quorum of the Architecture Department shall consist of a majority of the voting members.

Section 6

The presiding officer shall decide all questions of order in accordance with the current Robert's Rules of Order, except where in contravention of these Bylaws, subject to appeal to the Architecture Department. Such appeal shall not prevail unless sustained by a two-thirds majority of the voting members present.

Section 7

The regular order of business at meetings shall be as follows:

- a. Call to order.
- b. Approval of minutes.
- c. Elections.
- d. Report of Chair.
- e. Reports of Committees.
- f. Unfinished business.
- g. New Business.
- h. Adjournment.

Section 8

The regular order of business may at any time be suspended by a two-thirds vote of the voting members present.

Section 9

Proposed changes in the curriculum shall be referred to the Curriculum Committee for report. For adoption such changes shall require an affirmative vote by a majority of the voting members of the Architecture Department who are present. At least six days before the vote shall be taken, a copy in writing of proposed changes shall be sent to each member of the Architecture Department by the Chair or Secretary.

Section 10

Notice of each meeting shall include the agenda and written committee recommendations. Minutes of each meeting shall be sent to each member of the Architecture Department.

Section 11

In any election a majority vote of the eligible members shall be required to elect.

Article II: Organization and standing committees

Section 1

There shall be an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair of the Department and four other members of the Department of faculty rank. The majority of the voting members of this Committee shall be tenured members of the Department. The Chair and the four members shall be elected, by the members of the Department who hold Faculty rank, for concurrent three-year terms. Student representation will be in accordance with City College Governance (under Plan A or Plan B).

The Executive Committee serves as the Departmental Personal & Budget Committee as described in the CCNY Governance Plan.

The responsibilities of the Chair of the Department shall include:

- a. Assignment, in consultation with the Dean, of faculty to courses and related teaching activities.
- b. Scheduling peer observations of faculty.
- c. Annual evaluations of the faculty.
- d. Carrying out actions taken by the Executive Committee.
- e. Chairing the Curriculum Committee.
- f. Arranging for the annual election of a Student Advisory Committee.
- g. Assisting the Dean, at the latter's request, in other matters related to administering the School.

Section 2

There shall be a Student Advisory Committee consisting of five (5) students selected from among the Department majors and graduate programs, who shall be of at least junior status. They shall organize and preside over regular advisory meetings with the student body. The manner of election as well as additional roles and responsibilities are based on the Department's periodic selection of Plan A or Plan B as outlined in the City College Governance Plan. The students shall represent the following areas:

- a. Three (3) undergraduates of at least junior status.
- b. One (1) Masters of Architecture, of at least 2nd year status.
- c. One (1) Landscape Architecture, of at least 2nd year status.

Section 3

For the consideration of the curriculum and the revision of required and elective courses, there shall be a Curriculum Committee which shall consist of the Dean of the School (ex-officio, without vote), the Department Chair, and seven (7) members of the Faculty of the School of Faculty rank, elected by the Architecture Department for a term of three years, and one member of the adjunct faculty (without vote) to be elected by the adjunct faculty. The elected faculty shall represent the following areas:

- a. History and theory.
- b. Design and visual studies.
- c. Technology and structures.
- d. Masters of Landscape Architecture.
- e. Urban Design.
- f. Masters of Architecture.
- g. Sustainability.

Additional representation may be added to reflect new disciplines added to the curriculum, upon vote of a majority of the eligible members of the department.

Student representation (without vote) shall include two students from the Student Advisory Committee for a term of one year. The undergraduate and graduate advisors sit with voice, but not vote on this committee.

Section 4

Other committees of the Architecture Department may be constituted by resolution of the Executive Committee or by appointment by the Chair as occasion demands.

Article III: Amendments to the Bylaws

These Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the voting members present, provided that the two-thirds shall be at least a majority of the voting members of the Department, after notice has been given at a preceding meeting, and provided also that, at least six days before the vote shall be taken upon any proposed amendment or change, the Chair or Secretary shall have sent to each member of the Architecture Department a copy of the proposed amendment or change.

Draft: March 2, 2022

Presented to the faculty: March 3, 2022, April 7, 2022

Adopted: April 7, 2022