



Annual Scholarship & Awards Ceremony

May 31, 2023

Dr. Marta Gutman, Dean

Dr. Sean Weiss, Chair

Gerner, Kronik & Valcarcel Art of Architecture Award

Awarded to a student entering their final year in a first accredited degree program in architecture, for design excellence and promise in the art of architecture.

Amy Ho

Joseph L. Fleischer, FAIA, Scholarship for Design Excellence Awarded to a student entering their final year in a first accredited

degree program in architecture, for design excellence and promise in the art of architecture.

Nicole Girdo

Carol J. Weissman Kurth Women in Architecture Scholarship

Awarded to a fourth-year female student in the Bachelor of Architecture program, for high academic standing, a passion for architecture, and a lifelong dedication to the profession. Aakanksha Maharjan

FXCollaborative Diversity Scholarship

Awarded annually to one fourth-year student and one first-year student in the Bachelor of Architecture program; includes a scholarship and the offer of a summer internship.

Maylin Rosales – 1st year Shaury Perez – 4th year

Spitzer Changemaker Scholarship 2023-2024

Tuition scholarship and funds to support a proposed (or ongoing) service project to the architecture school.

Cassandra Castaño

Nicole Girdo, Abram Morris, and Gildalis Torres

SSA/Bronx AIA Empowerment Award

Awarded annually by the AIA Bronx chapter to two students in the Bachelor of Architecture program who are residents of the Bronx; includes a scholarship and mentoring support from the chapter leadership.

Husan Ahmed Jean Carlos Torres

CCNY Architecture Alumni Group Award

Awarded to two fourth-year students who demonstrate merit, financial need, and potential to be a leader in their industry. Valeska Abarca

Katerina Kwong

Frank Wayde Hall Travel Fellowship

Awarded to an undergraduate student majoring in Architecture who wishes to pursue and has been accepted to a study abroad program. Shiva Abbaszadeh

Spitzer History & Theory Travel Fellowship

Awarded to students (or team of students) for research projects involving travel incorporating the study of architecture, landscape architecture, and/or urban design.

Shiva Abbaszadeh - Undergraduate Wade Steely and Elena Dieci - Graduate

Academic Excellence in B. Arch Core

Awarded by the Core Studio faculty. Miriam Perel

Bernard L. Spanier Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to one or two third-year students in the Bachelor of Architecture program, among students with the highest GPAs. Established in memory of Bernard L. Spanier, a distinguished City College Alumnus and beloved adjunct faculty member in the Architecture Department.

Miriam Perel

B. Arch Second Year - Best Portfolio

Awarded by the Core Studio 4/Portfolio Review faculty for the best portfolio.

Pop Joslane Manos

B. Arch Second Year - Best Project: The Marketplace

Awarded by the Core Studio 4 faculty for the best project. Ezra Bush, Alex Cosme, Edgar Herrera, and William Moffett

B. Arch Advanced Studio - Best Project

Awarded by the Advanced Studio faculty for the best project. Lorraine Colbert

Castagna Scholars 2023-2024

Foundation-funded annual award to Spitzer School students, for tuition and funds to support study abroad.

Valesk Abarca

Shiva Abbaszadeh

Mouhamadou Dieng

Juan Giraldo

Tiffany Gong

David Hardy

Oranette Johnson

Nicholas Masters

Sydney Mauricio

Mateo Penafiel

Ryan Peterson

Werber Traveling Fellowship

Valeska Abarca

Junior Cruz Flores

Kevin Gessner

Tiffany Gong

Stephanie Gonzalez

Mauricio Guidos

Juan Jimenez

Evelyn Krutoy

Wyatt Kuebler

Abram Morris

Gregory Owen

Mateo Penafiel

Shayanne Raghoonanan

Jasmin Roussos

Jose Saucedo

Evangelos Vasos

Luis Zelaya Espinal

ASLA New York Chapter Scholarship Award

Awarded by the ASLA New York Chapter to two second-year students in the Master of Landscape Architecture Program.

Courtney Behrens

David Smucker

Hollander Design Award

Award generously funded by Hollander Design Landscape Architects. Ximena Diaz Velasco Sonia Uthuph

Hollader Design Fellowship

Multi-year award generously funded by Hollander Design Landscape Architects.

Cassandra Castaño

Professional Women in Construction

Awarded by PWC New York to emerging students pursuing a degree in the AEC industry. Open to female-identifying students at NYU, CCNY, and Manhattan College. Shiva Abbaszadeh Jasmin Roussos

Frederic Bainnson Memorial Scholarship

Given to a high-ranking second-year landscape architecture student in memory of a distinguished landscape architect. Samuel Syrop

Eastchester Heights Scholarship 2023-2024

Mary Daly

The Howard L. Zimmerman, Architects & Engineers, DPC (HLZAE) Scholarship

Awarded to rising second and third-year graduate students who have outstanding character and perseverance.

Nabiha Abid

Cortlandt Chin

Samantha De Leon

Wade Steely