



The City College of New York

THE BERNARD AND ANNE SPITZER SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE

CITY COLLEGE OF NEW YORK



FIFTY-EIGTH COMMENCEMENT AWARDS CEREMONY

Honoring the Class of 2023

Tuesday, May 30, 2023 In the Great Hall

FACULTY HONOREES

The Spitzer School of Architecture recognizes the service and scholarship of several faculty members who recently retired. Their years of dedication to their students and their professional design and policy work for the City of New York, the United States, and sites across the globe have impacted immeasurable people and places.

We thank them for their tireless work and unwavering commitment to the City College of New York and the Spitzer School of Architecture.



Jacob Alspector



Lance Jay Brown



Hillary Brown



Alan Feigenberg



Peter Gisolfi

Welcome

Remarks

Dr. Michael J. Miller, Associate Dean Dr. Marta Gutman, Dean Dr. Sean Weiss, Chair Dr. Vincent Boudreau, President Dr. Tony M. Liss, Provost

VALEDICTORIAN

Si Long Mong

Presentation of the Graduates

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Sendoff

Dr. Marta Gutman, DEAN

Mathew Brown Velasquez, Honor Award

Casey Breen, Merit Award

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE FOUNDATION, NATIONAL OLMSTED SCHOLAR

Recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada for past achievements and their future potential to influence the landscape architecture discipline.

Casey Breen

PROGRAM AWARD FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE

Aun O'Brien

PROGRAM AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE

Casey Breen

MASTER OF URBAN PLANNING IN URBAN DESIGN AWARDS

PROGRAM AWARD FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE Angie Montenegro

PROGRAM AWARD FOR ECOLOGICAL EXCELLENCE

Mathew Brown Valasquez Matthew Garczynski

HOLLANDER DESIGN FELLOWSHIP

Multiyear fellowship to encourage and support New York City students from demographics and communities that are historically underrepresented in landscape architecture to pursue the field.

Mathew Brown Valasquez

WX WOMEN IN REAL ESTATE SCHOLARS Program Scholarship

Awarded by New York Women Executives in Real Estate (wx) to promising women students studying real estate and related subjects in their final year of studies.

Jordan Greenblatt

PROGRAM AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP Tanner G. Barr

AIA MEDAL OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

For more than a century, AIA has provided a medal of excellence to the top graduating students in National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degrees who display "general excellence" throughout their academic career.

Harry Teitelman

PROGRAM AWARD FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE

Harry Teitelman

Program Award for Leadership

Katrina Knudsen

WX WOMEN IN REAL ESTATE Scholars Program Scholarship

Awarded by New York Women Executives in Real Estate (wx) to promising women students studying real estate and related subjects in their final year of studies

Katherine Kenny Katrina Knudsen

FACULTY HISTORY AND THEORY AWARD

Given for outstanding achievement in history and theory.

Katherine Kenny

FACULTY TECHNOLOGY AWARD

Given for outstanding achievement in technology. Mayu Uchiyama Albany Ramirez-Espinosa

Fund for the City of New York nyc Community Planning Fellowship

Provides selected graduate students the opportunity to work with local community boards on a specific project over the course of an academic year.

Alishah Khan Kristine Roodal

Master of Architecture i

Carl J. Badenhausen Cristian S. Calle Rebecca L. Hager Reid Kamhi Steven Kaminski Katherine Kenny Alishah Khan Katrina Knudsen Diego F. Madera Javier Morelos

MASTER OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

Casey O. Breen-Edelstein Mathew Brown Velasquez Charles J. Caccamo Soha Farooqui Matthew Garczynski Jordan Greenblatt

MASTER OF SCIENCE IN ARCHITECTURE Asli Gurcan

MASTER OF URBAN PLANNING IN URBAN DESIGN

Tanner G. Barr Indira Dopson Samantha H. Gifford Michael J. Kirschman Susann Mejia Prior Anthony F. Nieto Albany A. Ramirez-Espinoza Keaton Reinhart Kristine Roodal Caner Sahin Israel Tafere Xiaoneng Tang Harry Teitelman Mayu Uchiyama Houyu Wei

Aun O'Brien Dylan J. Reich Kreitman Tucker W. Schnaars Michael Shepard Evelyn Tawil Molly R. Thorkelson

Helly B. Kamdar

Hicham Mihoubi Angie C. Montenegro Pauroma Taan Kunal Veerabhadraswamy

THE CLASS OF 2023

BACHELOR OF ARCHITECTURE

S A Tasnim Ahmed* Arifa Ali Chel Ho An Joshua Andrade* Chayarei Marie Baldonado** Christopher Barran** Lana Chen* Mingyao Chen** Mosammet Chowdhury Isaac Corniel* Samantha Ehrman** Miguel Garcia** Chantal Garrido* Insuida Gjergji Gabriela Gonjon* Katherine Guzman* Guadalupe Hernandez-Sosa Christopher Horng** Yong Hao Hu* Tingna Huang** Danyel Hueyopan** Anamaria Jovel** Christine Jurado* Hamide Keskin** Anastasia Kontarakis*

*** SUMMA CUM LAUDE $\,\,$ ** MAGNA CUM LAUDE $\,\,$ * CUM LAUDE $\,\,$

Kaitlin Labatt-Simon*** Izak Lee** Jack Li*** Ranger Lin* Wei Qing Lin* Zixuan Lu Patrick Machado Christopher Madej Gabriela Melghem* Si Long Mong*** Aaron Morgado* Julie Morgado* Brendan Murphy* Lutfun Nahar* Labiba Nazrul** Charlotte Nealy** Crystal Ng** Angela Njoroge* Otabek Ochilov* Dhanesh Parsan** Laura Perez** Florjan Plepi** Tamar Plotzker*** Christopher Procaccio** Dorian Pulvermacher*

Christopher Quinonez* Nathan Raden Mahomudur Rahman* Aparna Ramanathan Ramesh** Talaha Rashid Xavier Raymore** Paola Ruiz Alix Salomon** Winny Sanchez** Hina Sardar* Namah Scharf** Manfei Shi*** Brendan Smith Timothy Sommer*** Wenjun Song* Annabelle Surva*** Roberth Trujillo Shara Um Xiao Lin Wang*** Begum Yildirim Florim Zharku** Yongfei Zhu Nyein Zin

AIA MEDAL OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

For more than a century, AIA has provided a medal of excellence to the top graduating students in National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degrees who display "general excellence" throughout their academic career.

Si Long Mong

FACULTY HISTORY AND THEORY AWARD

Given for outstanding achievement in history and theory. Christopher Madej

Alpha Rho Chi Bronze Medal

The award is given annually by Alpha Rho Chi, the National Professional Fraternity for Architecture and the Allied Arts, to the graduating professional architecture student who has demonstrated an ability for leadership, has performed willing service, and gives promise of real professional merit through his or her attitude and personality.

Jack Li

FACULTY TECHNOLOGY AWARD *Given for outstanding achievement in technology.* Florian Flepi

FRANK WAYDE HALL TRAVEL FELLOWSHIP

Awarded to an undergraduate student majoring in Architecture who wishes to pursue and has been accepted to a study abroad program.

Izak Lee

WX WOMEN IN REAL ESTATE Scholars Program Merit Award

Awarded by New York Women Executives in Real Estate (WX) to promising women students studying real estate and related subjects in their final year of studies

Gabriela Gonjon Annabelle Surya Xiao Lin Wang Labiba Nazrul