# Spitzer The Bernard & Anne Spitzer School of Architecture





# THE BERNARD AND ANNE SPITZER SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE

### THE CITY COLLEGE OF NEW YORK



FIFTY-NINTH
COMMENCEMENT
AWARDS CEREMONY

Honoring the Class of 2024

Tuesday, May 28, 2024 In the Great Hall

#### **PROGRAM**

#### WELCOME

Dr. Michael J. Miller, Associate Dean

#### REMARKS

Dr. Marta Gutman, DEAN

Dr. Sean Weiss, CHAIR

Dr. Tony M. Liss, Provost

#### VALEDICTORIAN

Amy Ho

PRESENTATION OF THE GRADUATES

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

#### SEND-OFF

Dr. Marta Gutman, DEAN

#### **UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS**

#### AIA MEDAL OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

For more than a century, AIA has provided a medal of excellence to the top graduating students in National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degrees who display "general excellence" throughout their academic career.

Amy Ho

#### ALPHA RHO CHI BRONZE MEDAL

The award is given annually by Alpha Rho Chi, the National Professional Fraternity for Architecture and the Allied Arts, to the graduating student who has demonstrated an ability for leadership, has performed willing service, and gives promise of real professional merit through their attitude and personality.

Mateo Penafiel

#### J. MAX BOND CENTER FOR URBAN FUTURES SCHOLARSHIP

Escarlen Ibadango

#### AARON RAND '65 AWARD

Awarded to outstanding undergraduate students in honor of CCNY alum Aaron Rand '65.

Amy Ho

Katerina Kwong

#### MELENDEZ SCHOLARSHIP

Awarded to an outstantanding student in recognition of former Undergraduate Advisor Arnaldo Melendez.

Bardh Maraj

#### FACULTY TECHNOLOGY AWARD

Nily Baratian

#### URBAN DESIGN ACADEMIC COUNCIL AWARD FOR ADVOCACY IN URBAN DESIGN

Amy Ho

#### WX WOMEN IN REAL ESTATE SCHOLARS PROGRAM AWARD

Awarded by New York Women Executives in Real Estate (WX) to promising women students studying real estate and related subjects in their final year of studies.

Scholarship

Shiva Abbaszadeh

Merit Award

Lorraine Colbert

Amy Ho

#### Preservation League of New York State's **ZABAR FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP**

The League awards scholarships to the best and brightest preservation students studying in NYS.

Lorraine Colbert

#### G. Antonio Chavarria '90 Memorial SCHOLARSHIP

Awarded to an outstanding fifth-year B Arch student in honor of CCNY alum Guillermo Antonio "Tony" Chavarria '90.

Mateo Penafiel

#### MONTCLAIR MGAP DESIGN AWARD

Bardh Maraj

SPITZER HISTORY AND THEORY TRAVEL **FELLOWSHIP** 

Amy Ho

#### MASTER OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE AWARDS

#### American Society of Landscape Architects New York Chapter Awards

Honor Award

Courtney Behrens

Merit Award

David Smucker

## LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE FOUNDATION, NATIONAL OLMSTED SCHOLAR

Recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada for past achievements and their future potential to influence the landscape architecture discipline.

David Smucker

#### Unilock Paving the Future Scholarship

Recognizes U.S. and Canadian landscape architecture and design students for academic excellence, leadership and commitment to their community.

David Smucker

#### PROGRAM AWARD FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE

Samuel Syrop

#### PROGRAM AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE

Arielle Cheifetz Mary Daly

#### PROGRAM AWARD FOR ECOLOGICAL EXCELLENCE

Griffin Pollak

### MLA FACULTY SPECIAL AWARD FOR STUDENT ADVOCACY

Anita Beach

#### HOLLANDER DESIGN FELLOWSHIP

Multiyear fellowship to encourage and support New York City students from demographics and communities that are historically underrepresented in landscape architecture to pursue the field.

Gaël Oriol

### MASTER OF ARCHITECTURE

William Allan Cole Miles
Alexandria Almaguer Hamza Mirza

Matthew Awai Angelica Morales Juarez

Suraya Babb Perparim Morina

Carl Badenhausen Thanathorn Nawakitbumrung

**THE CLASS OF 2024** 

Cortlandt Chin Gregory Owen
Elena Dieci Ryan Peterson
Shadeen Dixon Aidan Quigley
Julia Farfan Dehaan Rahman

Kevin Gessner Alexandra Rodriguez Chaves

Tiffany Gong Jasmin Roussos
Fernando Gonzalez Carlos Rueda
David Hardy Wade Steely
Suzanne Kerr Israel Tafere
Diego Madera Moubina Uddin
Edaet Mamudoska Jie Zhang

MASTER OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

Anita Beach Griffin Pollak
Courtney Behrens David Smucker
Arielle Cheifetz Samuel Syrop
Mary Daly William Thomson

Gaël Oriol

#### MASTER OF SCIENCE IN ARCHITECTURE

Dilianny Espinoza Moreno Anshuman Khandelwal

**THE CLASS OF 2024** 

#### **BACHELOR OF ARCHITECTURE**

Valeska Abarca \*\*

Shiva Abbaszadeh \*\*\*

Kedishia Joseph

Sofiia Alaeva

Hamide Keskin\*\*\*

Louie Lauren Apostol

Sily Baratian \*\*\*

Wyatt Kuebler

Jose Saucedo\*\*\*

Genesis Soto

Kang Pei Sun\*\*

Yulia Zdryueva\*\*\*

Luis Zelaya Espinal

Tony Zhang\*\*\*

David Tzalik

Lolita Bogdanova Katerina Kwong\*\*\*
Ismael Cajamarca Philip Lee\*\*
Nathaly Castillo\*\*

Joseph Lo\*\*

Tianyu Chen Aakanksha Maharjan\*\*

Weng Hong Chong\*\* Bardh Maraj

Mohammed Chowdhury Marxell Mejia Vargas Shaira Palabasan\*\* Lorraine Colbert\*\* Louis Conte\*\* Mateo Penafiel\*\* Shaury Perez\*\* Dylan Desiante\* Mark Gangaram\* Tamar Plotzker\*\*\* Stephanie Gonzalez Katherine Quito Mauricio Guidos\*\* Damian Rivera\*\* Klaudia Harizi Paola Ruiz

Selbi Hasanova Danielle Ryba\*\*\*

Amy Ho\*\*\* Justin Ryshkewitch\*\*

Ahmed Husan Angel Sanchez\*\*\*

Alba Hysaj Leora Santoriello\*\*

#### MASTER OF ARCHITECTURE AWARDS

#### AIA MEDAL OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

For more than a century, AIA has provided a medal of excellence to the top graduating students in National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degrees who display "general excellence" throughout their academic career.

Kevin Gessner

#### PROGRAM AWARD FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE

Shadeen Dixon Carlos Rueda

### PROGRAM AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP IN HONOR OF MIMI LIEBENBERG

Recognizes a student leader in the spirit of M Arch '21 alum Mimi Liebenberg (1985-2023).

Dehaan Rahman

#### WX Women in Real Estate Scholars Program Scholarship

Awarded by New York Women Executives in Real Estate (wx) to promising women students studying real estate and related subjects in their final year of studies.

Shadeen Dixon Tiffany Gong Jasmin Roussos

#### FACULTY HISTORY AND THEORY AWARD

Matthew Awai

## SPITZER HISTORY AND THEORY TRAVEL FELLOWSHIP

Aidan Quigley

#### FACULTY TECHNOLOGY AWARD

Suzanne Kerr

#### Fund for the City of New York NYC Community Planning Fellowship

Provides selected graduate students the opportunity to work with local community boards on a specific project over the course of an academic year.

Shadeen Dixon Dehaan Rahman Jasmin Roussos

### J. MAX BOND CENTER FOR URBAN FUTURES SCHOLARSHIP

Dehaan Rahman

## Valmira Gashi & Julien Legeard Scholarship

Helps a student financially and professionally including opportunities at Legeard Studio, co-founded by Julien Legeard and Valmira Gashi M Arch '20.

Perparim Morina

#### PROFESSIONAL WOMEN IN CONSTRUCTION New York Chapter Scholarship

Awarded by PWC New York to emerging students pursuing a degree in the AEC industry. Open to female-identifying students at NYU, CCNY, and Manhattan College.

Alexandra Rodriguez Chaves

## CCNY GRADUATE RESEARCH SYMPOSIUM WINNING PROJECT

Wade Steely